Chapter 10. Administration

The Administration page has a number of options for updating and administering your One Hub. This section describes the various options available on the Administration page.

10.1. Updates

Your SwitchThat One Hub will occasionally receive system updates bringing new and improved functionality. Your One Hub will automatically check for system updates on a daily basis, and a notification will appear when an update is ready to be applied.

10.1.1. Checking for Updates

You can also ask your One Hub to check for updates at any time. You might use this feature if, e.g. you have heard about an update via our website or social media channels, but your One Hub has not yet notified you about it.

To ask your One Hub to check for updates now:

  1. Tap Settings
  2. Find the System section and tap Administration
  3. Find the Updates section and tap Check for updates

Note

It can take upto 5 minutes before you are notified of a new update. If you are not notified within this time, then there are no new updates available for your One Hub.

10.1.2. Updating your SwitchThat One Hub

You’ll receive a notification once an update is ready to be applied to your One Hub. Tapping the link in this notification will take you to the Update SwitchThat One page.

Tap Update to start updating. The update will take approximately 5 minutes and you’ll lose access to your One Hub during this time. All Interactions will temporarily stop running during the update process. A notification will appear as soon as the update has completed and your One Hub is fully functional again.

If you prefer you can choose to delay the update and apply it at a more convenient time. Tap I’ll update later and you’ll be taken back to the Home screen without applying the update.

When you’re ready, you can return to the page to apply the update:

  1. Tap Settings
  2. Find the System section and tap Administration
  3. Find the Updates section and tap Update SwitchThat One

10.1.3. Updating the Base Software

Warning

Updating the base software on which SwitchThat One runs has the potential to stop your One Hub from functioning correctly. Do not attempt to do so unless instructed to by SwitchThat Limited.

Occasionally, we might issue a recommendation to update the base software that powers your SwitchThat One Hub. We’ll let you know via our website and social media whenever a base software update is required.

To update the base software on your One Hub:

  1. Tap Settings
  2. Find the System section and tap Administration
  3. Find the System Health section and tap Update base software
  4. You’ll be asked to confirm that this is what you want to do. Tap OK and your One Hub will begin the update process.

The update will take approximately 5-10 minutes and you’ll lose access to your One Hub during this time. All Interactions will temporarily stop running during the update process. A notification will appear as soon as the update has completed and your One Hub is fully functional again.

10.2. System Health

10.2.1. Shutdown

If you need to disconnect your One Hub from its power source, it’s a good idea to shut it down first. To shutdown your One Hub:

  1. Tap Settings
  2. Find the System section and tap Administration
  3. Find the System Health section and tap Shutdown

You’ll be asked to confirm that this is what you want to do. Tap OK and your One Hub will shut itself down.

The process will take approximately 1 minute, after which it is safe to unplug your One Hub from its power source, or to restart it.

10.2.2. Restart

If your One Hub starts to behave unexpectedly, or if you seem to have lost the ability to control one or more of your devices, it’s worth doing a restart to see if that fixes the problem. To restart your One Hub:

  1. Tap Settings
  2. Find the System section and tap Administration
  3. Find the System Health section and tap Restart

You’ll be asked to confirm that this is what you want to do. Tap OK and your One Hub will restart itself.

The process will take approximately 2 minutes and you will receive a notification when your One Hub has restarted and is fully functioning again. You will temporarily lose access to your One Hub and all Interactions will temporarily stop running during the restart process.

10.2.3. Show Running Processes

Warning

This page is intended for customer support purposes only and allows users to provide us with information when troubleshooting any issues you may have.

The screen shows a list of the vital system processes, how many instances are running, and highlights any that are not running as expected.