Chapter 6. Configuring your Devices

Each of your devices has a Configure screen, where you can change its settings, move it to a different room, or troubleshoot if the device is unavailable.

To visit the Configure screen for a device:

  1. Find the device tile on the Home screen or open the room where the device is located.
  2. Tap on the device tile to open the control page for the device.
  3. Tap the Configure button, found in the right-hand side control panel on larger tablets or on the left hand side of the footer toolbar on phones or smaller tablets.

Configuring a Device

Configuring a Device


6.1. Device Settings

The Details section at the top of the Configure screen contains a number of device settings you can change, each of which are described in this section.

6.1.1. Renaming a Device

It is important that your devices have unique names when they are used in SwitchThat One. If two or more of your devices have the same name it can cause problems because SwitchThat One may get these devices confused. This might mean, for example, that your Interactions fail to work correctly.

When a device is first discovered and added to SwitchThat One it will automatically be given the same name used for that device in its official app. As a result it may be that a newly-discovered device is given a name that is already in use by another device. If this happens, you should rename one of these devices as soon as possible.

To rename a device:

  1. Go to the Configure screen for your device
  2. Find the Details section and tap on the Rename button, next to the device name.
  3. Enter the new name in the box and tap Save.

Note that the Rename button may not appear for some devices. This might be because:

  • The device must be renamed using the official manufacturer-supplied app. For example, Sonos players must be renamed using the official Sonos app. When this happens, SwitchThat One will automatically update the name of the device accordingly.
  • The device is currently unavailable. Make sure your device is powered on and connected to your home network.

Note

SwitchThat One will periodically check for devices with duplicate names and warn you if any are found.

6.1.2. Making a Device Visible to Guests

When a device is first discovered by your One Hub it will be hidden from guest users. However, you can choose to make some, or all, of your devices visible to guest users. This gives you complete control over which devices your guests can control.

To make a device visible to guest users, go to the Configure screen, find the Details section and tap the Visible to guests setting. A tick will appear, indicating that this device is now visible to guests.

To hide the device from guests, tap the Visible to guests setting again, and the tick will disappear.

6.1.3. Works with All on/All off Buttons

The All on and All off buttons are used to quickly turn the devices in the current view on/off at once. There may, however, be situations where you prefer that a particular device isn’t affected when you tap All on or All off,

You can easily configure a device to stop working with the All on and All off buttons: go to the Configure screen find the Details section and tap the Works with All on/All off buttons setting so that the tick disappears. Tap it again to restore the device to working with the All on and All off buttons.

6.1.4. Keeping Devices in Sync with External Changes

Most of your devices within SwitchThat are automatically kept up to date with changes made using other apps, or made to the device directly.

There are some devices that your One Hub must periodically check on to make sure it accurately shows the state of the device. The Keep in sync with external changes setting can be used to control whether or not your One Hub keeps these devices up to date.

There is usually no reason to change this setting.

6.2. Change a Device’s Location

SwitchThat One allows you to organise your devices into rooms. See Chapter 5, Organising your Devices for details. The Configure screen for a device provides a number of ways to move that device into a room.

6.2.1. Move a Device in an Existing Room

To move a device into a room, go to the Configure screen for the device and find the Location section. This will show the current location of the device: either the Home screen, or the name of the room it is already inside.

Tap Move and a list of all available rooms will appear. Tap on the room you wish to move the device into (or tap on Home if you wish to move the device back to the Home screen.) Tap Update location to finish.

Moving a Device to another Room

Moving a Device to another Room


The page will reload to show that the device has been moved to the selected location.

6.2.2. Creating a New Room for a Device

If you want to create a new room specifically for a device, then go to the Configure screen for the device and find the Actions section.

Tap Create a new room for this device, enter a name for the new room when prompted and tap OK to create the room.

The page will reload to show that the device is inside the newly-created room.

6.3. Dealing with Unavailable Devices

From time to time your One Hub may report a device as ‘unavailable’. This means that your One Hub cannot communicate with the device over the network, and attempts to control that device will fail.

Unavailable devices are shown with an orange warning symbol on the device tile, and next to the device name in the title bar of the Control and Configure screens.

There are a few reasons why a device might show as unavailable:

  • The device has become disconnected from your home network
  • The device has been temporarily powered off
  • SwitchThat One has lost its link to the device
  • You no longer use or own this device

The first thing to check is that your device is powered on and that it’s connected to your home network – these are the most common reasons why a device might show as unavailable. You should also try to access the device using the manufacturer-supplied app to make certain that the device is functioning correctly.

If you are certain that the device is powered on, connected to your home network and is otherwise functioning correctly, but SwitchThat is still showing it as unavailable, then it’s possible that your One Hub has lost its link to the device.

6.3.1. Refreshing a Device

You can try to restore your One Hub’s link to the device by ‘refreshing’ it.

To refresh your One Hub’s link to a device, go to the Configure screen for the device and find the Actions section.

Tap Refresh this device and your One Hub will start searching for the device. If the link between your One Hub and the device is restored, the page will update to show the device as available once again.

6.3.2. Forgetting a Device

Another reason why a device might show as unavailable is that you no longer use or own that device. You may have sold it, or it may have broken or otherwise no longer be in use.

In such cases, you will probably want to remove the device from your SwitchThat One environment. You can do this by instructing your One Hub to ‘forget’ the device.

To forget a device, go to the Configure screen for the device and find the Actions section. Tap Forget this device to remove the device.

There may also be an option to forget this device and all other devices associated with it. For example a Philips Hue light will have options to forget that light and to forget all of your Philips Hue lights.